Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

In our ecosystem, every species has its function and contributes in the maintenance of the balance of our ecosystem. The endangerment of species and their possible extinction will have adverse effects on our world. Hence, members of the society should make efforts to save endangered species. The prompt argues that efforts should be made to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities. I strongly disagree with this for reasons which I will elucidate below.

To begin, if efforts are made to save endangered species whose possible extinction is the result of human activities, it means that a lot of species that are not affected by human activities will go extinct. More species are affected by factors in their habitat that do not involve human activities and even when the human interference is addressed, they continue to face potential extinction. For example, the desert tortoise Gopherus agassizii, has faced a steady decline in its numbers since the 1980s. Although the Endangered Species Act (ESA) has made it illegal to harm the desert tortoise or remove them from the wild, they have continued to remain endangered. These measures have been largely ineffective because other factors are involved in the decline of the desert tortoise. The low reproductive potential of the desert tortoise contributes to this decline. The female tortoise do not breed until they attain full size at fifteen to twenty years of age. When they attain this full size, they only lay eggs when there is available forage. The adult female averagely lays a few eggs annually and completely neglects them. Ultimately, only about five percent of the eggs which become hatchlings survive until adulthood.

Furthermore, the desert tortoise suffers predation from a variety of species and are susceptible to various pathogens and diseases. Tortoise eggs and juveniles can fall prey to birds, mammals and other reptiles. Ravens, specifically, are estimated to cause about half of all juvenile tortoise deaths in the Mojave Desert. Large mammalian predators can dig into the burrows of tortoise when smaller rodents like rabbits are not available. Likewise, all tortoise species are particularly affected by upper tract respiratory disease (UTRD) which rapidly proliferates in the wild with devastating consequences.

Finally, although the tortoise is well adapted to its arid habitat and can survive for a year without access to water, the loss of its native plant to invasive species can affect the population of the desert tortoise. The loss of their native plants affects their ability to reproduce and their resistance to pathogens.

In conclusion, all the factors that affected the possible extinction of the desert tortoise are unrelated to human activities and if we go by the argument of the prompt, these species will go extinct. Hence, it is very precarious to our world if we make efforts to save endangered species only when the potential extinction of those species are as a result of human activities.