Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In recent years, Nigeria has experienced a higher rate of insurgence than in the past. This has come to be as a result of government’s oblivion on some pressing issues in the country. In a bid to improving our understanding on a better way of calling both the governments and individual attention on current country situations, the prompt argues that scandals are valuable because they set our gaze on issues in ways that no reformer or speaker could ever do. I mostly disagree with this claim for two main reasons which I will give below. However, I do concede that in some cases, scandals do play important roles on driving our attention on incumbent situations.

To begin, scandals should not be used as an effective approach for driving the country’s attention on current issues because the reward of using this style is very little compared to the damage. For example, the Boko Haram scandal in Nigeria actually caught the attention of the general public and the governments to cede demand their needs and attend to certain issues they see as inappropriate in the government’s tenure, however, during this course, many have lost their lives in insurgency and battles that have led to making this point. Many children have been rendered fatherless, wives turned widows, and, other unpleasant things have occurred because they want to prove a point. Likewise, in the case of the Niger Delta youth scandals on oil pipes, whereby youths in Niger Delta decided to cause chaos because they felt they were not being compensated enough on oil tapped in their region. The scandal did prompt the government to look into the problem, but the lives lost as a result is enormous compared to the point or the result in the end. Would we rather prefer bloodshed and government instant focus on issues or we follow the right procedure without any death cases?

Secondly, scandals should not be employed as a tool to gain government’s focus because even with the high risks involved, its efficacy is not always guaranteed. There are several instances whereby scandals, calumny, and disparage against the government do not even lead to a favorable response after running the risk of being apprehended by the government. For instance, the issue of ENDSARZ that occurred recently in Nigeria galvanized the youth in Nigeria into proclaiming different things about the government and saying all sort of things to draw the government’s attention. Not only did the governments not attend to majority of the youth’s need, they also arrested most of the youths that engaged in such acts of undermining the authority of the government. Although governments attentions were caught on the issue of complaint, it did not prompt them to properly address such issues. So in short scandals should not be employed as an effective tool of gaining government’s attention because while it has a high success rate, its success is not 100% guaranteed, and it runs a higher risk on the participants’ end.

Admittedly, scandals might be a way to go on some occasions where reformers and speakers are unable to properly call the public’s attention on issues.