Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The statement raises the ever-present issue of whether students would be better off in pursuing a field of study that interests them or in pursuing a domain which has good job prospects. On a cursory analysis, it may seem as if hunting for a job with arguably more lucrative options is the better choice. But if one were to truly consider the consequences that both these decisions entail, it becomes obvious that pursuing your passions leads to a better career.

It would be safe to assume that nearly everyone attempts to achieve varying degrees of success in his/her life; be it monetary or spiritual. No person starts off his career without setting certain goals to achieve. But to be truly successful, one needs to be driven enough in his/her field to maintain the demanding standards of any job. This cannot be achievable if one is uninterested in his/her job and merely practices the bare minimum. If Michael Jordan hadn't been passionate about basketball, the world would not have encountered a brilliant dunker that transcended the game to higher levels. Or consider the more esoteric fields of philosophy. The likes of Camus, Nietzsche or Socrates would not have ushered in the eras of Stoicism and Existentialism if all that they cared about was of bagging a lucrative job with better benefits. It is only through braving the uncertainties that revolutionary ideas have surfaced and flourished.

Speaking of revolutionary ideas, while it is true that many people would be satisfied in pursuing a more mundane field, that is no reason to abandon ones’ interests for a job that appears safe. For the global market is a volatile entity that swings one way at one time and another way the next time. For instance, prior to the 2008 housing bubble, realty was considered an extremely desirable domain to start ones' career. Yet post 2008, it were the bankers and the real estate agents that that drove up the indigent population of the world. With such bleak outcomes a possibility, it would be erroneous to dedicate your life to a job which one might not even like.

In some cases, accepting an uninspiring position may seem inevitable. A person may be experiencing difficulty in obtaining any job. It is encouraged in these situations to accept that position. Yet it should be understood that any difficult situation is temporary and rather than succumbing to a challenging position, it would be better if we were to soldier through the hardships and look for prospects that aligns with ones' interests. Elon Musk, a revolutionary innovator that is credited with achieving feats such as successfully landing a spaceship back on earth and developing the most efficient electric car had faced bankruptcy due to a tepid start to his entrepreneurship. Yet despite the odds, Musk achieved unimaginable success.

In conclusion, while the ever increasing competition may act as a deterrent in pursuing ones passions, the above arguments display the errors in this reasoning and guides one to a path of fulfilment and success. In fact, pursuing a field of interest that is also lucrative may be the best option to choose.