Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The writer of the issue contends that some people believe that college students should choose a field of study based on their own talents and interests, while others believe that college students should consider the availability of jobs in a field while choosing a field of study. First, the reasons considered by each group in explained and then, my own point of view will be delineated.

Those who believe that students should consider their own interests and talents while choosing a field of study, reason that by choosing a field that is truly liked, the students will shine in that field because of their interests and talents. If a student is interested in a field of study and pursues this field in the college, he or she will put enough effort to get the most out of this field by studying hard and also, trying to know all about that field of study. Thus, his or her passion for this field will lead to his or her in completing college successfully with high grades. Similarly, if a student is talented in a field of study, he or she can study this field much efficiently in time that other students. Thus, he or she can become expert in this field than the students that do no have a specific talent in this field.

The other group believe that students should choose their field of study based on the availability of jobs in that field. This point of view major benefits both for the students and the society. If the students select their field of study based on job availabilities in that field, it is probably guaranteed that students can find a job after they finish their college. Also, as we know, the society needs different types of experts and if students choose their field of study based on the needs of their society, they will serve a great service to society since they fulfill the need of society after graduating college.

In my opinion, students should prioritize the available field of studies based on their interest and talents and also, job availabilities of that field. If a student does not consider either of these aspects, he or she might not find the chosen field of study satisfying or might not be able to find a job in this field after graduating college. Only by considering both point of views, the students can make an informed decision about the field they are going to pursue as it is warranted that the chosen field of study will satisfy the students (because they have an interest in it or they are talented and improve faster in this field) and also, will guarantee that the students can find an appropriate job after graduating college.