Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The motivation for students to attend a college and their criterion for choosing a particular field of study has long been debated. While many go to college to realize their passion, many are those who eye for a big-fat salaried job. Given that, a consummate professional, in all likelihood, gets decent jobs irrespective of the demand of his field, students must consider their talents and interests for choosing a particular field of his study.

The prospect of any individual getting a secured job is dictated by his or her professional prowess in that field. This prowess is then contingent upon one’s intrinsic skills and his/her passion for a specific field of study. For example, curiosity is the key for scientists; perspicacity of mind is essential for a prosecutor; physical abilities are necessary for athletes and so on. In case, someone lacks any crucial skill required for a profession, he or she may developed that through sheer hard work which then is not possible without interest and passion to succeed. A culture where students choose a field of endeavor without considering one’s abilities and interests would result in a stream of unskilled and unenthusiastic laymen unable to contribute in one’s profession and hence looking into a bleak future. Consummate skills in any profession would fetch success and hence a secure future. For example, while fine arts like painting may not be appealing to many students, renowned painters do earn in millions for their artwork.

Another important factor to consider is the variable nature of job demands and availability which is dependent upon complex market conditions and scientific innovations. For example, after the invention of integrated circuits, the second half of twentieth century saw a huge rise in job availabilities for electronics graduate, which now had died down. Similarly, the revolution of information technology (IT) resulted in boom of jobs for IT graduates which now has been superseded by the areas such as artificial intelligence, data science, machine learning, etc. Therefore, it is difficult for students to anticipate the availability of jobs after they graduate in specific fields given the obsolescent nature of technology and market demands.

Some may argue that the given the increasing costs of tuition fees and poor financial family background, it is wise for students to consider job prospects in any field instead of interest. Moreover, some drastic consequences of astronomical students loans have emerged such as ‘sugar daddy' culture, students fleeing from the country to evade loan repayment, etc. Though these factors are undeniable, one must not forget that there are some universities and trust offering scholarships and fellowships to needy students of merit ensuring that pecuniary constraints are never an obstacle in pursuit of knowledge. In order to compete and get those grants, one still needs to groom his skills through sincere efforts and cultivate his passion for the field.

In conclusion, while students have the liberty to choose between passion and pragmatism, they must consider their skills and interests before pursuing any academic offering because ultimately it is these parameters that are decisive in succeeding in a given area and thus securing a bright career.