Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe

that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own and explain your

reasoning for your position. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address both views

presented.

There is a lot of competition in everywhere these days. More the competition, more it helps people to work hard towards their goal and progress in their field. At the same time, too much competition may also cause stress and could affect one’s performance. In the field of sports, young athletes perform better when there is competition and those who are not talented should not be discouraged form this competition and instead try to improve themselves.

Competition helps an individual to become better and motivates them. When put under pressure, one needs to work hard in order to achieve more and this helps in the overall development of an individual. Young athletes have the need to prove themselves and show that they can also become a good competitor in their field and reach the level of the more experienced athletes and considering many young talents trying to prove themselves, this competition gives an extra push or surge to work harder and achieve goals.

Moreover, if some athletes are not as talented as other athletes, the increasing competition would help them to improve and get better so that they can excel in their field. This is where they would have to work even more harder since they are not that good as others and try to reach to their level. Instead of being discouraged and not participating, they should use this competition as their motivation.

However, sometimes too much competition may also cause stress and may have a bad impact on an individual. Young athletes which are not much talented may start to come under pressure and feel like giving as they are not able to cope up with the stress.

So, even if an athlete is not as talented as others, working hard and using the increasing competition as their key to motivation would help them to progress and get better. As it is always said, hard work and perseverance is the only key to success.