Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the view presented.

The responsibility of corporations is of vital concern to our society.Some people argue that their responsibility is beyond making money and they should promote the well-being of the environments, whereas others insist their responsibility is limited to making biggest profit under the condition that their action is legal. I agree that the primary goal of a company is to make a money, but focusing solely on profit is erroneous. As far as today's society where companies plays prominent roles is concerned, I believe corporations should do much more than making money.

The chief reason for my assertion is that corporation is too powerful to ignore ethics. I must admit the freedom of business of individual companies is important. However, if companies are not responsible for our society and environment, it would engender a pernicious effect on our daily lives. As a matter of fact, a plethora of environmental problems should be ascribed to immoral corporations. Let us clarify this point by using several examples.

The first example is diseases caused by industrial wastes. In Minamata, Japan, more than ten thousand people suffered by industrial wastes which contained mercury in 1980s. Corporations emitted harmful substances to the environment and inhabitants around the factory had health problems. Even after their disease is appeared to be caused by the corporation, they did not stop emission in order to make more money. The problem continued until the government forced to stop emission of mercury. The corporation should be cautious whether their emission would cause harmful effect for people, but they ignored the risk. The historical tragedy could be avoided or at least alleviated if the company was aware of their responsibility.

The second example is global warming. As is widely known, carbon dioxide emission from industry is a major cause of global warming. Many governments are trying to reduce the emission, but their effort is not effective. This is because it is corporations, not governments, that generates carbon dioxide. They cannot stop carbon dioxide emission because reducing the green house gas is not beneficial for making money. However, letting global warming more serious will harm our life crucially and it lead to significant damage to our society.

As shown in these examples, the activities of corporation affects our society greatly. A myriad of problem will be engendered by their immoral actions. Considering the impact of corporation's activity, I must insist that corporation's responsibility includes their well-being for the societies and environments. Looking back the history when the power of human was limited, human being could do anything in order to make profit. However, mankind obtained a great power to change our environment through mass production and production is mainly conducted by corporations today. As is often said, with great power comes great responsibility. Corporations, the holder of great power, should be responsible for their actions.

In summary, I would like to insist that corporations have responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments for reasons discussed above. This is not to deny that corporation should make as much money as possible. In fact, advancement of technology are results of corporation's effort to make money. However, in our society where corporations can cause huge destruction of environment, they must be aware of their responsibility to protect our environment.