Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The two opposing viewpoints on the resonsibility of corporations coexist in our society. One part of us childishly assumes that business should take responsibility for well-being of society in which they work, the other part of population loudly claim that corporations should operate withing the law and it is only their liability. As far as I am concerned, any business has a goal to make as much money as possible and therefore, we may expect that they will not violate the laws which are created to steer their conduct in desirable way.

First of all, we who live in modern society tend to naively believe that corporations should bother about environment issues and well-being of society. In fact, corporations create some programs which are aimed to combat poverty and help people who need it. For example, we may know that a part of money which we pay for our food or service will be donated to some funds. The corporations such as MacDonalds make a big fuss about it. However, it is helpful to remember that these corporations' actions are steered by government incentives and laws which give the businesses who donate money a tax relief. However, would the corporations share their profit without government legislature?

The answer may be found in a relatively recent history. At the dawn of the XX century, governments did not stimulate and poorly regulated corporations. The deeds of these unlished businesses led to revolutionary activity in many countries from Russian Empire to the UK. Worldwide business demonstrated absence of social responsibility and concern about environment. In fact, before government created the laws which restricted contamination of the nature, business polluted it in overwhelming scale. Thus, without government's control business tends to be egotistic and irresponsible.

Finally, business has only one major goal to create money and profit, therefore, its responsibility is to follow the laws which are created to handle them and rule their actions. If any corporation demonstrates that it is concerned about environment or prosperity of a society, it means that the firm somehow will earn on it. For instance, today, demonstration of concern about environment may attract customers and clients, the business resonds on this movement and started to explisitly display its position about environment. However, beyond this appearance we still have a deal with voracious desire for money. One of the best examples of such a situation is a recent scandal with WV which violated the USA's laws.

In conclusion, business has a goal to earn money, therefore, their actions are guided by this desire. We may hope that they will not violate laws which created to steer their conduct. Moreover, if a firm displays concern about the nature, this action should somehow bring its money.