Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as

Though many consider corporations shall only focus on making maximum profits as long as they obey the restriction of laws, I hold a different position that corporations are responsible to improve environments as well as society by the following arguments.

To begin with, it is true that the first priority of a company is to generate maximum profits in a sense of capitalism, but we shall aware the fact the all human beings live on Earth and involve in societies and that sustainable environments and sound societies are not only the foundation for corporations to make profits but also for people to achieve happiness. Since large corporations, especially those international ones such as Google or Amazon, have tremendous influences on a global scale, their decisions may decide the future of all human beings in either good or bad ways. Thus, companies shall consider the benefits of mankind rather than only their own profits.

A corporation considers no benefit for environments or societies might lead to serious disasters. For instance, the occurrence of Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant Accident was partly due to Tokyo Electricity Company's concern of that shutting down the power plant will shrink its profits. Through this case, it is clear that what is held by believers of capitalism, that the invisible hand will modulate the utilities of the system to achieve a maximum of happiness for everyone within, is merely a dream with a lot of assumptions. So it is irresponsible for corporations to only focus on profits. Besides, corporations have the responsibility to enhance environments and societies.

In addition, contributing to environments such as using clean energy, or to societies such as providing scholarship can not only raise the reputation of the corporations but ensure stable natural resources and sound societies for the corporations to operate with.

In conclusion, with all the arguments list above, it is safe for me to states that corporations shall hold the responsibility to promote environments and societies.