Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Corporate Social Responsibility is a widely discussed topic. The proponents of this philosophy argue that corporations should work to improve the standards of societies while others argue that corporations need to only look for their own profit and pay no heed to the welfare of general populace. In my opinion, if everyone follows the latter philosophy the world would be a very mean place to live in. Hence, I agree with the former view, the reasons for which are laid out in the following three paragraphs.

Firstly, for the longevity of human race maintaining a good environment is a necessity. The corporations must pay attention to this fact and work towards maintaining a prisitne environment. Any avoidance in doing so will not only affect the general population but also hurt the corporation is themselves. For instance, the workers might get ill more often, which in turn affects the corporation's proper functioning. Also, it will be wasteful to keep recruiting new workers to counter this problem. The only viable long term solution is to act today to save the environment for tomorrow. Thus, corporations have an incentive to take care of the environment in which they operate. Therefore, for their own sake and for the sake of others, they have the responsibility to maintain environment.

Secondly, societal welfare must be a guiding principle in developing the corporation's policies because what one gives is what one gets. If the corporations work towards welfare of the people, they will get better workforce in return. The people will be happier, satisfied and more enthusiastic to work for a corporation that takes care of them rather than someone who is selfish and cares about his own money only. In view of the above argument, corporations must forgo the avaricious nature of looking for themselves only and work towards improving the life of the people.

Lastly, the greedy attitude of corporations will lead to exploitation of the workers and deterioration of the environment. Even if one follows the law, one can find ways to bypass it and get profit at the cost of others since laws can not safeguard everything. They are limited by the intelligence of its creator. Also, creating a new law to safeguard general population's interest takes time and resources. In the meantime, the corporations may exploit the workers. To prevent that from happening, incentives must be created for the corporations to shoulder some social responsibility.

To conclude, some may argue that corporations have only one motive- to make profits. But this is not a complete argument, corporations have the motive of making profits for long. To achieve that they must take care of the people and environment in which they operate.