Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In the modern era, consumers have become increasingly aware of social and environmental problems, especially those arising from the activities of corporations. In order to compete successfully and to maintain a positive image in consumers’ minds, corporations tend to address consumer concerns, other than those related to products and services. Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) initiatives enable corporations to maintain and promote environmental and social well-being. Such attempts have become essential for the fulfillment of corporate goals, both monetary and non-monetary.

In order to stand out among the bottle-neck competition, corporations need to go the extra mile. Focusing only on monetary gains, i.e. profits or in other words, the bottom line, is a thing of the past. In the contemporary economic era, consumers’ purchase decisions are affected by a wide range of factors. Social and environmental concerns have become increasingly significant in the list of such factors. For instance, green policies require corporations to ensure proper disposal of industrial waste. Factories polluting fresh-water reservoirs are not only being legally penalized, but they also lose consumer trust and confidence, translating into negative corporate returns. In order to maintain a strong consumer base, it is essential for corporations to take into account the positive and negative externalities caused by their activities.

In my opinion, it is the responsibility of the corporation to protect its environment, conserve scarce resources and work for the betterment of the society as a whole. It is not merely a peripheral project to undertake; rather it is of utmost importance if the corporation wants to ensure profits and positive cash flows. Corporations failing to realize this responsibility create a negative brand image, eventually losing market share and becoming unable to sustain themselves.

A sustainable business requires steady cash-flows and profits for owners (shareholders). Without such incentive, investors will balk and businesses will become unable to survive. However, for a corporation to sustain in the long-term, it is important to adopt a more holistic approach than just chasing money. While making investment decisions, investors not only focus on shareholder return prospects and business viability, but also on the image of the business in the market. One of the best strategies to improve corporate image is to focus on CSR initiatives.