Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The statement presents two school of thoughts. The first viewpoint suggests that it is the responsibility of the corporation to take care of social welfare as well as environment">environmental conservation while working to achieve their corporate goals. The other thought expresses that the only obligation of the corporation is to make money provided that they act within the framework of law. According to me, the first viewpoint is more reasonable because it is the moral responsibility of each and every citizens to engage in promoting well-being of society and also be concerned about their environment and corporates are no exception. while, if corporation works just as profit making mechanisms, they may create more disparity in the society and hamper environment severely.

today, world leaders are talking about good environment policies and ways of its conservation. also, with an increasing share of corporates in global economy, it would be unfair on the part of society and environment if corporates espouse dormant attitude towards them. one may argue that corporation is just the money generating tool in the economy and by doing so, it helps in increasing per capita income of the society, as a whole, by increasing number of jobs, burgeoning job satisfaction. but one must also presage the havoc this view can causes on environment. this is not quite discernible in short run but it will create huge footprint on nature if such practices are not forestalled. such a viewpoint was adopted during industrial revolution and the effects are clearly diaphanous today after at least a century. Hence, espousing it may exacerbate social disorder and environment">environmental degradation. so, corporates should always make a healthy tradeoff between profit making and other ethical things.

However, advocates of second viewpoint may argue that if the laws are made that complies with environment">environmental protection and social welfare, as long as corporates abide the law, they are indirectly working for the cause of society and environment. In such a situation, they should only focus on profit making mechanisms. but, one should take a note of the point that no law can be paragon of its kind and there are always some loopholes in every law which can be wrongly used by an avaricious corporation concerned only with moneymaking. Moreover, even if one consider a hypothetical situation, in which a law is perfectly formulated, it may have negative impact on the functioning of corporations. As there will always be various public litigations pending in the court against the corporation that can cause money drain. it may also be noted that law can only create order not the change in public mindset.

so, in conclusion, I must say that I am more allured by the first viewpoint and rightly so. it is the moral duty of each and every organization, in modern economies, to work for the welfare of society and indulge in sustainable ways of profit making. As development without sustainability is of no use if one does not have clean water to drink, pure air to breathe in and major fraction of society exploited for the profit making of fistful of white collar corporates.