Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Exposure to art is essential to keep the creative spark alive in mankind and help develop an aesthetic sense that any cultured person possesses. I assume that the author means arts encompassing literature, music, monuments, paintings etc. But should government take the responsibility to be a patron of the arts ? In my view, that depends on the state of the economy and living standard of the people in that country.

In context of developing or under-developed nations, I believe it does not make sense for the government to spend its resources on promoting art when there are much more pressing issues to deal with like poverty, poor medical infrastructure, education etc. For instance, recently in India, the government spent billions of rupees to build an art monument to commemorate the great leader S.V. Patel, who played a pivotal role in unification of the states of India during independence. But it seems a bit unfair to spend such an astronomical amount on an art monument when significant number of people in India are below the poverty line, there is severe water scarcity in several regions and people are dying due to poor public health facilities.

There are a few more reasons that I take issue with government meddling in arts. When government starts to allocate funds for art, the decision of which kind of art to fund lies in the hand of a few legislators who may have their biases. So any art which may be even slightly against the agenda of philosophy of the people in power may not receive funding. This affects the integrity of the art since the artists would have to create art of particular kind if they want to receive aid from the government.

Also, there are many philanthropists that are eager to support arts. Some of the major ones being Bill Gates, Warren Buffet etc. This helps to make art somewhat accessible to people as these philanthropists usually support art without seeking profits.

Although, under certain conditions the first part of the authors argument could seem reasonable. For developed nations, where citizens already have access to fundamental needs, the government could fund art if there is a dearth of private funding. This would probably make art even more accessible than private funding would.

In essence, I strongly disagree with the first argument that Government should fund the arts, especially in developing countries where it has much bigger issues to deal with. In developed nations, the Government may support the arts if it senses lack of private funding. But even in that case, the integrity of art remains under threat as explained above.