Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

art is a reflection of the social, political and economical climate of a society. Various nuanses in history and culture is carried forward through time in the form of serveral artform, as seem in the case of Bhartnatim dances which is a form of storytelling and China's dragon festivle.

STEM related fields are funded by the goods and services that they provide in the free market, however art cannot contirubute to this market to the same extent. Hence often individuals stray away from pursuing their passion for art, and instead aim for a more secure future. It is essential for governments to provide funding to the numerous dying artforms that form the backbone of our culture and also to help fourish newer and creative artforms which are indictive of today's culture. this funding will provide incentive to students who want to purse a carrer in their choose field of art.

One of the most compiling arguments for the need for governemnt funding is seen in the example of dying art of tribal island of Andaman and Nicobar islands. Wooven leaves from the coconut tree forming beautiful animal silottes are hung at teh edges of forests to warn other tribal groups of the animal's territory in that part of the forest. this is a dying weav was essential is ensuring the animal's and the inhabitant's safety. this artform was the primary source of information about the wildlife existsng on the island.