Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure
that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that
government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.
Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own
position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and
supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.
“Artistic soul often navigate the delicate balance between their boundless
creativity and the practical realities of financial existence.” Arts and funding
share a complex and interconnected relationship, as the financial support
available for the arts significantly impacts the accessibility, sustainability and
growth of artistic endeavors. Adequate funding plays avital role in nurturing and
expanding the artistic landscape in various ways. So, I mostly agree with the belief
that government funding is necessary to ensure the flourishing of the arts and its
accessibility to all people for several reason.
Many artistic endeavors would be struggled to exist unless adequate funding is
provided to them. Artist, particularly in marginal communities, often face financial
obstacles that impede their ability to focus fully on their artistic creativity. In the
late 20th century and onwards, the advent of digital technology has had a
profound impact on the arts. The availability of computer, internet, digital tools
revolutionized artistic creation. Hence, it compels the artist to be on equal footing
to pull through this competitive market. By providing funding, the government
can help level the playing field and create opportunities for artists who might
otherwise be overlooked or unable to pursue their artistic aspirations.
In addition, for the production of large scale projects which require significant
resources government funding is required. It can benefit both the public and the
artist. For instance, ‘Shilpokola art exhibition’ can be organized to showcase and
promote artistic talent, cultural diversity and creative expression. It provides artist
to display their art to wider audience, allowing them to gain recognition and
potentially sell their artwork. These funds can be used to cover various expenses
associated with organizing an exhibition.
People are not born with equal facilities. The government funding can encourage
the people from each background and promote cultural cohesion. It can, thereby,
enrich society as a whole by preserving authenticity of traditional art from diverse
background. The art can play a vital role in shaping our identity and facilitating the
exchange of idea. So government funding can assure that the facilities of art is
accessible to everyone.
There is an argument that government funding can pressurize the integrity of the
art. There might be political interference on the freedom of the artist. They
claimed that government may dictate the types of art would be worthy of support
which will potentially impede the creativity of the artist. These claims have not
been convincingly refuted. Therefore equality should be maintained between
government funding and artistic autonomy to prevent the deterioration of artistic
expression.
The government funding may impair the integrity of the arts yet the pragmatic
view demonstrate the necessity to ensure the flourishment and accessibility of
arts. In order to restrain the integrity of the art, transparent and independent
fund allotment mechanism should be established. It is crucial to safeguard artistic
autonomy as well as the diversity of artistic expression.