Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

I have analysed both sides presented in the statement above and I will advocate for the latter.

Government funding of arts can only do more harm than good. Art is a form of expression, which

only flourishes when it is genuine and creative. Government funding will influence artists and their creativity forcing them to adapt their art to fit the funding criteria.

This type of influence will only encourage artists to make art which can eventually be eligible for funding. Art is considered by many as era defining piece work which audaciously portrays the state of the society at large. These types of pieces of art often defy the decorum and bigotry of the society, an act which can only be discouraged by the government. The freedom which artists require must never be indirectly supervised and influenced by the government.

A great example of this is Kendrick Lamar's decade defining album 'To Pimp a Butterfly', which tackles many social issues like racism and the oppression of the African-Americans living in America. This album was created for the sole purpose of elevation of the black community, and such a controversial and politically charged album would not have been possible if the artist was trying to get eventual funding from the government.

Such type of a situation may also kill the diversity of a genre of art. It may also create a negative competition among various artists trying to get the next round of funding by churning out uninspired works of art, instead of developing and exploring new limits of the art form.

To epitomize my views in a single line, I would say that a funding from the government is not at all necessary for an artform to flourish and it should be left as it is to preserve its integrity.