Arts is a cultural expression from a society that is very important to be developed. Artists and their movements need to be funded in a certain way to continue developing their ideas. Government funding is one option, however there is people who supports this possibility and other ones that disagree. Even considering some negative aspects that could be related to government funding of artistic movements, there is much more positive points that supports this possibility.

It’s possible that someone could argue that government cannot fund artists to develop their works. This kind of professionals are considered people that need to be independent from all sorts of strings, since they develop a work that in many occasions is very important to demonstrate social problems and dilemmas within a society, which might require to make critics against government. In this sense, if an artist is sponsored by the government itself, it might be more difficult to have this freedom to go against the ideas from politicians. For instance, many painters sponsored by the absolutist king Louis XVI from France were funded in order to paint representations of the grandiosity of the monarchy regime while at the same moment people in the streets of France were starving. In this context, these artists would never create works that could go against the idea of the regime while other artists not attached to the monarchy were able to represent the ideas that society had about the government.

Even considering the example from above, one cannot ignore the importance of government funding artistic expression within a society. Arts were always considered a field only available to be appreciated by what could be considered the “elite” from a certain a society. In this sense, many people would not have access to this kind of cultural expressions. In democratic regimes, the government was important to make these types of movements more available to people that didn’t have conditions to pay to see a painting exhibition, for example. Moreover, take the example of public libraries. These places are also a way to develop arts in a certain nation and they are funded by government. Libraries are very important to develop a critical thought and the public one allows everybody to have access to a series of contents. In this context, government make arts something more popular to people that is not able to buy books and trough this way government did not threatens the development of arts but actually helps spread arts knowledge trough society.

In conclusion, even considering that many people could see negative aspects in governments funding artistic movements, it’s possible to observe many positive elements in this action. When we consider that government is made by the people and for the people, we can also consider that is an obligation of it to improves knowledge that society has about arts movements by helping make these movements more accessible to everybody. In this sense, democratic regime has this responsibility and cannot interfere in these artistic expressions.