Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that they should base their decisions on the their own judgement.

A leader is a person who is selected by the people to work for the well-being of the people. Similarly, people select their government officials during an election thinking that they would work for their betterment and bring about a positive change in the country. So here, fulfilling the needs of the people they serve becomes a vital job of any governmental official. This not only pleases the people of the country but holds the nation in good shape overall. That is why, I feel that government officials should always work for the people and must see what the people exactly need from them.

Every government in every country should possess the ability to listen to the needs of the people nonchantly and based on that needs take a judgement. This would not only help the people but also help the government officials to recognize what the people need from them exactly. For instance consider the example of the government officials from Italy. There is a policy in place in Italy, where any governmental organization before taking any huge step has to go through the voting process to identify if people would like to have the change. If majority agree, then only the government officials can go forward with the idea. Many years have gone by implementing this policy and has proved to be very fruitful. As a result of it we do not see any of the Italian media or people from there criticizing their government, this shows how much people have faith in their government and how the government is looking to serve them. So, we can clearly take a lot from this example in understanding why government officials should work taking into consideration the will of the people they work for.

However, I do agree that government officials must have some power to base their decisions on their own judgement but here also, taking an opinion before taking a decision is a much better idea. I remember when I heard the news of public outrage in North Korea because of the over imposition and heavy influence from the government. The outrage was so severe that people came out on the roads damaging properties, causing infrastructural damage and heavy riots. This lead to heavy losses to North Korea and damaged its reputation in the world to a great extent. So, it is clearly evident how influencing people or commanding them can lead to degradation and severe destruction in the entire country.

Therefore, to conclude, I would say that considering the will and fulfilling that will must be the primary purpose of the government. Rather than taking their own decisions, every country must consider adopting the method like Italy which will only help their people and thereby lead to a greater bond between the government officials and the people of the country.