Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

In today's world, wealth and power have tremendous influences on an individual's life. A man is defined by the wealth and power he possesses. But, not every individual in this world has the ability to have both of them on their side. He/ She needs the support from other influential individuals to bring out their skills and artwork they possess to the table. Similarly, the artists, writers and other people producing any type of artforms need the help and support of their government to make their piece of work come to the fore and get acknowledged. That is why, I feel that government funding is very important in ensuring that artists can flourish and reach newer heights in whatever they do.

Firstly, when an artist produces some artwork, he/she needs the backing and bolstering from the government that his hard work and perseverance towards the art will be acknowledged. If this is done properly, it boosts the confidence of the artist to a great extent and produces in him/her the zeal to work towards it arduously. For instance, consider the example of the famous Italian painter Adam Griffith. Earlier in his life when he was not that popular, he had a hard time in getting a good price for his paintings. Nobody, really truly acknowledged the sense and meaning behind his artworks and as a result of that he couldn't earn even a single penny through his paintings and had to live on streets of Rome during that time. But one day, when the president convoy was passing through the same street where he lived, the President came across some of his beautiful artforms. The President was in awe of his paintings and seeing his condition at that time, arranged a multifarious auction for his artforms. The auction was a big hit as all of his paintings were sold to billionaires and that day completely transformed him into a different individual that he is now. So, looking at his example we can clearly see that if an artist is backed up by proper government funding than it can have a huge impact on the artist's life.

However, I do feel that government funding is not the only way to ensure that an artwork can flourish. Yes, it is important and life changing but when people get the help from the government some times they can become too complacent and not work on their skill judiciously. So the role of the government becomes very critical here. The government must support any artist but they should never become a source of reliance . There is a popular saying that 'Talent needs opportunity'. So, the government must become that opportunity which the individual is looking for.

Therefore, to conclude, I would say that to bring the people who possess a skill into limelight must be the job of the government. To encourage the artist in bringing the best out of him must be the goal of the government and therefore must provide the individual with all the necessary help and assistance he/she requires. This will not only help the person but would help the people of entire country knowing that they have the backing of their government.