Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Children are influenced by their surroundings and the people with whom they interact frequently. So, I believe that the behavior of friends and parents has great influence on children's nature. I present below reasons to justify my views on the prompt.

The time that is spent in interacting with someone or something plays an important role in carving someone's behavior. Usually, children spend most of their time with either parents or in schools with teachers and friends. They observe how each one behaves and adapt the behavior accordingly. For instance, at home, if parents are very cranky and always scold or beat their children for not doing homework or for getting bad grades in school, children also learn the same things and follow this somewhere else. Because children think that violence is the only way to achieve the things. When children are in school, they learn from their friends and listen to them. If the some students engage in ragging or bullying in schools, it may influence some other children to do so.

Sometimes parents are so possessive to support their children for bad behavior instead of punishing them. Lets say, a kid comes from school saying that he/she kicked his friend for some reason. If parents support this bad behavior of their child instead of punishing the kid for this, the kid may think that whatever he did was correct and continues to do so in future.

Kids watch television and phones. But they may not be able to spend much time in watching because of school and home work. Also children are mature enough to understand the fact that whatever is shown in television is not completely true. Moreover there are dedicated channels for children which have customized programs for children. Since all these are designed for children, it is less likely that the content has some violence. The violence is most showed in news programs and some reality shows. Because of technology like child lock in TV’s and phones it is very least likely that children will have access to violent content. So, the media has very less influence on children compared to parents and peers in school.

In a nut shell, good or bad temperament of children can be credited to the environment in which children spend their time like school or home. Children learn from them and do the similar things. Since the media is not directly connected to children, it does not have a greater influence on children, though a small influence can definitely acknowledged. So, it is the responsibility of parents and schools to show proper path to children.