Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Young people are future of nation and it is very important that they are shown right path in the childhood. Children admire many sports and movies stars because of their qualities and abilities. So, it should be the responsibility of such stars and celebrities to behave in such a way that they can become inspiration for young generation. In my opinion, I agree with prompt for below reasons.

The celebrities in the field of movie and sports are in current position because of the continuous support and encouragement that is provided by the society. So it is the great responsibility of those people to return the favor they have received in their carrier. By doing so, they can become inspirations for young people who watch them on television everyday. Lets say, a cricketer has provided shelter for homeless people, and children who watch this may be inspired from this and they will provide shelter for homeless when they become capable of earning money in future.

Celebrities should make sure that they are in focus always and their success is long lasting. If they want this to happen, they should help the society in which they are born and brought up. For instance, if a highly paid movie star commits a crime, he will not be casted in future movies, which means his success is lost and nobody will treat him as celebrity now instead he is treated as a criminal. This example clearly illustrates the necessity to have high moral and ethical standards for stars.

However, not all stars and celebrities have high moral and ethical standards. With lot of money in hands, some movie and sports stars we can expect them to behave in unscrupulous ways in many situations. In fact, the scandals and their profligate lifestyle is what keeps them in limelight. Although they are made heroes by their fans and admirers, once they reach the highest position in society, it is very difficult to change their behavior and mandating to develop characteristics that can be regarded as walking path for future generation.

The issue stated by prompt, is very argumentative. Some people believe that the success achieved by movie and sports are is not the real one, since this type of success is no use for society and people, except for the entertainment they provide. This is true in some sense. Their success does not fill hungry stomachs or provide a shelter for homeless people. So, considering these stars as role models does not benefit nation in any way. But, children who are interested in pursuing carriers in sports and entertainment industry can definitely take them as role models for their future. Thus, I state that stars definitely have responsibility to behave in a role model manner.