Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Children are prone to adapt what they see and hear in everyday life. That's how they end up learning and adapting to the environment they live in. Violence in media might be a concern for people in the society getting influenced by it, but children on a daily basis are more prone to the influence of their peer groups and family.

A child's mind is very adept at learning new concepts, their power of observation is very strong. That's the reason they end up learning things that they are not even taught explicitly. Children tend to imitate what they see subconsciously. Even if they have been taught that violence and fighting in intolerable, what they observe and notice will have more influence on their development as a person.

Parents are the first point of communication for children, they are the ones who interact with them on a daily basis. So, naturally the child is more affected by what's going around in the house. If the mother is a victim of domestic violence, or the child's parents quarrel a lot everyday, that's what the child sees everyday. He will be more prone to violence because he doesn’t know otherwise, he might think that all parents are like that. The same goes for the peer groups that a child is a part of. He will see and emulate whatever his friends are doing, even if it is just for the sake of fitting in. If he doesn’t take part in a fight with them, they might chide him for being a coward. Also, the increased competition these days might be a factor too that might make him resort to violence when it comes to friends. So, a peer group significantly affects a child's behaviour.

Media might also have a significant affect on a child's perception about violence if the child engages in activities that often involve social media, news etc. Looking at the current scenario of the world, news channels are always talking about numerous cases of violence and other atrocities all over the world, while newspapers are filled with bombastic headlines that tend to attract readers like "Terrorist attacks kill 45" or "Man kills himself over rejection". This no-filter way of reporting does intent to attract the attention of even the most oblivious reader, be it a child or anyone else. But how often do we hear of a 10 year old reading the newspaper or changing the channel from a cartoon to watch prime time news? So, in the end it all comes down to how much exposure and access the child has to these media sources.

Therefore, we can conclude that a when it comes to increasing violence among children, a child's tractable mind is more influenced by the people around him i.e his parents, family and friend groups rather than other sources like social media, newspapers or tv shows because of the difference in the level of exposure to both things.