Some people believe that it is helpful to view a challenging situation as an opportunity for personal growth. Others believe that reimagining challenging situations this way occupies too much of the focus one needs to face challenges effectively.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A challenging situation provides a gamut of benefits that make possible an all-around development of an individual. Whether it is a math problem that requires a tremendous amount of attention or dealing with a terrorist to persuade him to leave the hostage unscathed, a challenging situation always improves a person's cognitive and physical ability. A challenging situation always requires the individual to figure out out-of-the-box possibilities and the solutions to the situation at hand. Therefore, a challenging situation must be taken as an opportunity to enhance personal skills. In some cases, however, a challenging situation can become time-consuming, and hence, an individual must not stick to that challenge forever. For instance, there can be some projects, such as a computer program to add thousands of numbers, which may look challenging when a person has just started to learn a programming language, will become mundane. Therefore, it will only eat a person's time, and there is nothing much left to learn.

The best opportunity to learn is to face a challenging situation regarding the subject. For instance, preparing for GRE (Graduate Record Exam) for a student can be considered a challenging situation. A student's skills, based in English and Maths, are tested thoroughly. Therefore, if a student wants to score the highest marks possible in the exam, which is 340 in the case of GRE, then the student must write 10-15 mock tests right before the actual exam. Writing a mock test in a time-bound situation will not only enhance the student's skill based on the tested subjects but also the student will be able to sit for a long 4 hours exam.

On the other hand, the same challenge of writing multiple mock tests can become a time-consuming task. If a student is only reading the subjects and has written hundreds of mock tests, and he is not able to reach his desired score then the challenge to learn from writing a mock test is not at all helping the student. It could be possible that the student does not know a single word of English, and he is trying to learn the language using the mock test. Therefore, the mock test, which is a challenging situation, is only destroying the time devoted by the student. The student will try to put a massive amount of effort, and therefore, he will try to focus more on the part that a challenging situation will improve his score. But, this particular situation is merely wasting the effort and time of the student. Hence, an individual must figure move on from the situation which is squandering the time and effort.

Learning often comes from facing a challenging situation. In most circumstances, a challenging situation always fosters personal growth. A newborn baby continuously learns from doing experiments in a challenging world to improve his motor skills. A student always tries to find tricks to solve the toughest problems in the exam. Hence, a challenging situation constantly improves personal growth.