Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifetyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for climate change.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether or not developed societies should reduce the amount of energy that they consume, thus leading a more sustainable lifestyle. Indisputably, this would require very drastic lifestyle changes by the masses, which would not come easily. Nevertheless, there is evidence for global climate change and it is vital for the future of our planet that we start now with reducing our energy consumption. Thus, I generally disagree with the claim that it is unwarranted for individuals in developed nations to change their lifestyle to one that is more sustainable.

First of all, there is evidence for global climate change. I would like to point out that we are seeing hotter summers, colder winters, and more natural disasters than ever before. To illustrate, lets look at the example of the extreme climate changes we have faced in the recent years. It seems that each summer, we are reaching higher and higher temperatures than we did in previous years. In this circumstance, it is clear to see that the planet is going through obvious and dangerous climate changes. Consequently, it is evident that if we do not change our lifestyles to create a more sustainable environment, this pattern of heat will continue indefinitely.

Furthermore, the claim that it is unnecessary for us to make these changes means that we do not care about sustaining our earth for future generations, or for the wildlife of this planet. Specifically, we are facing the melting of polar ice caps, loss of habitats, and extinction of a variety of species. Common sense, personal experience, and scientific evidence have shown us that reducing our energy consumption can prevent more of this damage from occurring. Hence, all of the above demonstrates that developed nations should make lifestyle changes to reduce their energy consumption.

3rd: Admittedly, a lifestyle change of this proportion would be drastic and require a lot of effort from a large population of individuals. This is true especially because developed nations are so accustomed to their everyday habits, many of which lack sustainability. In addition, a huge amount of advocacy and education would be needed to spread the importance and the information that would make this kind of a lifestyle change possible. However, the above arguments do not provide sufficient support to claim that reducing energy consumption is unwarranted. Because saving the planet outweighs the minor inconveniences that may come with creating a widespread lifestyle change, it is essential for the fate of the planet that we reduce our energy consumption we lead more sustainable lives.

In conclusion, although it would require stepping out of comfort zones and the implementation of widespread education, it would be worth it for our society, and for those to come, for us to consciously reduce our consumption of energy. As long as evidence of global climate change exist and the conservation of our planet are involved, the importance of a switch to sustainable lifestyle choices still holds.