Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle as the global climate is changing rapidly. The reduction in energy consumption can take time and happen slowly and need not take place rapidly as people cannot immediately reduce their energy consumption.

If the people living in developed nations do not reduce their energy consumption, then it can lead to many problems. The excess energy consumption in developed nations may lead to severe shortage in energy resources in other undeveloped nations or shortage in same developed nations in the future. For example, some developed nations generate electricity using water. Global climate change can cause water shortage by less rainfall in developed nations which can lead to problems in generating power which is most important in many fields in developed nations. This reduction in power supply can cause many problems for the people in developed nations. Global climate change can pollute the environment and can cause to even food shortage in some cases which will become main problem for the developed nations.

However, it is true that drastic life changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change. But life changes can made in developed nations slowly step by step reducing their energy consumption daily in small quantities. This way they can someday the people living in developed nations can achieve drastic reduction in their energy consumption.

It is imperative for people living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption though drastic life changes are unwarranted. The reduction in energy consumption can be made in small quantities initially and later be made in large quantities thus leading to decreased energy consumption in the future.