Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Global climate change, a critical issue faced by the world has many factors to occur such as uneven use of natural resources, release of toxic gasses in environment and many more. The prompt stating to reduce the comsumption energy essential makes is an unrelieable solution to tackle with the global climate change. Thus, I would mostly disagree with the given prompt for two reasons.

To begin with, the climate is a world wide scenario, so it require the contribution of the nations of the world not just the developed one. The steps taken by the developed nations to control the climate change world wide will be nullified if the developing nations do not controls the other factors causing climate change. The industries operating in the developing nations plays a major role in creating the detrimental effect that leads to global climate change. This can be exemplified by comparing a developed nation and a developing nation. In India, a developing nation, many chemical industries do not fellow the rules and guidlines given by the CPCB (Central Pollution Control Board). These industries without a proper treatment to their waste release their toxic waste in the environment, causing global warming. Thus, even if people in United States, a developed nation, reduce their consumption of energy won't solve the "Gobal" climate change to a great extent. Hence, unless and until the whole world, not just the "developed" nations comes together to address climatic issue, taking a concrete stand to reduce the factors, the climatic change cannot be stigmatized.

Further, only by reducing the consumption of energy cannot essential prevent the global climate change. To control the climate change we need to find some alternate sourcces to extract energy. Lot of scientific researrch and technological developments are required efficiently extract the energy from renewable resources (the one which can used infinite number of times without causing any detrimental effects on nature) so as to reduce the use to non-renewable resources (one which onces used cannot be used again and may cause an impact on the nature). For instance, about 80% world's requirement electricity is fullfilled by burning coal, a non-renewable source of energy, in electricity generation power plant. Coal extracted from nature, majorly containing carbon and ash, when burnt produces smoke and other gasses that increases global warming, ulltimately leading to the climate change. Hence, to reduce the coal comsumption and thus protect the evnironment from climate change we need to increase the use of renewable sources such as solar power, wind energy at reasonable cost making a relieable alternative.

Contrastly, one would argue that reducing the energy comsumption of people would ultimately reduce the global warming leading to better climatic conditions and a more suitable lifestyle. But, do only humans consume energy? There many more things in this world that requires energy to operate which cannot be stop since they are required for smooth functioning of the world. Thus, for concluding I would says that energy consumption of people as well as other factors needs to be taken under consideration to control the global climate change.