Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Politicians have a responsibility to the people that elect them into power. By keeping the people fully informed of his or her actions, a foundation of trust is established, and depending on his or hers, can be favorable. But if a politician were to be insular about his or her intentions, people will begin to feel dubious of their actions. Non-communication that occurs to lead to disastrous events for the country as a whole and for the political leader as well. It is in the best interest of the political leader to be open and honest of ones intentions, achieving positive feedback loop between the leader and the people.

Prior to being elected in a position of power, politicians promote themselves by adhering and sympathizing with the woes of the people. The people that elect the leader genuinely believe that the leader can bring about change. Keeping them in the dark about their decisions once being elected would only cause a rift in the relationship of the people and the leader. The support of people for the leader would decline, and it would be difficult for the leader to stay in power.

Take the Watergate scandal as an example. Before the event took place, a majority of the people decried the violence and depravity of the Vietnam War. One of Richard Nixon's goals as a president was to end the Vietnam War once and for all. However, his time as president was filled with secrecy, his actions deceptive and illegal. Excuses were used to cover up the real intents and the war only elongated under his presidency, resulting in heavy economic consequences and social disruption at home and abroad. After the scandal was revealed in full light to the public, the people were enraged at his decisions. They realized that Nixon had no intention to end the war and that the tactics Nixon used were highly immoral and unfit for a leader. This embarrassing event destroyed his national image and he resigned shortly afterwards.

For a politician to not allow the public to be informed of their decisions is poor way to be a leader. Thus, it is always in the best interest of a leader to be open about their intensions and decisions.