College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

In this modern age, productivity is the yardstick of an economically stable society and the assertion that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in the market serves to realize that outcome. It can be argued that the consequence in support of the assertion leads to the marginalization of other fields of study that are less practical, especially in the arts and humanities, undermining cultural development. However, I believe that the opposite would occur: the more stable a society is, the amount of leisure time that people can afford to have would increase, allowing people to pursue more creative interests.

Choosing a field of study with a large availability of jobs is important to students that want healthy and stable lives in the future. Even though the particular field may not be of interest to the student, the stability of the future job would grant the means and resources to engage in activities outside of their job such as spending time and caring of their families or pursuing certain hobbies. The society as a whole would benefit as well. With more people filling in jobs that are in high demand, productivity as a whole increases, generating wealth within the society.

Conversely, it would seem that the increase of people filling higher-demand jobs also implies a decrease of lower-demand jobs, and certain fields of study such as the arts and humanities would be increasingly marginalized. I stand by my point that a solid economic foundation of a society would actually allow more people to pursue creative fields, which in turn serves to develop the culture of a society. Lawrence Berk, the founder of the highly-reputed Berklee College of Music, initially graduated from MIT with a degree in architectural engineering. During WWII, the demand for engineers rocketed and he would go on to work as a mechanical engineer. But he always had a passion for music education and would teach part-time. By working in a practical field that was in high demand, he was able to become financially stable and have the means to pursue his passion for teaching and establish a savvy and modern music school. It is now the largest independent music college in the world.

To summarize, supporting the idea that students should pursue fields that have a larger availability of jobs will result in economic prosperity. Although the negative aspects of marginalization of other fields is a valid argument against the assertion, economic stability would allow for these to fields to flourish rather than disappear.