Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

A leader is someone who has been appointed by the majority of people to oversee, govern, and make decisions that progress the society or group. From time to time a leader will be faced with a protest against some of his decision which the public deems unfit but his ability to be able to manage such situations without conflict is what outlines him as a great leader.

A leader must be incisive and decisive. public are more interested in the short term benefits and a long term plan may not go down with them. it is the duty of the leader to remain firm with these decisions even when the pubic calls for reform of these plans to suit their immediate desire. great monuments and projects that have been vaunted such as the Eifel tower, coloseum were once rejected by the public at the outset.

An example of such scenario is the Chinese population case. The population was growing geometrically and if the government did not resort to such measures as "one child per family", it may actually have led to the downward spin in the china's economy as the resources will not be enough to cater to the burgeoning population. The government yielding to the public self-interest of allowing multiple births will have been a bad decision in a long term.

The spartans have gone down the history as having the most formidable army ever. this was a result of their ascetic and disciplined lifestyle. The spartans leader was able to sacrifice short term benefit for long term and by remaining firm, they were able to carve out the most formidable military that became the envof neighboring states.

it is true that public opinion matters and the may be able to see things more clearly and from a larger perspective than the leader. there are several cases in which the intransigence of the leader has been his biggest undoing, making mistakes that were too late to be corrected. there are different scenarios in the past when the leader carry out projects that are not only unbeneficial to the populace but also inconveniencing them. The horror of leaders like Pol pot, Sadam Hussein and Stanlin has proved that the leader may not have his people's interest in heart and his left to the populace to bemoan this situation.

The ability of the leader to look at situations critically and know when to reach an impasse with the public is what characterizes a great leader. A leader should not because of long term benefits become oblivious of the public outcry.