Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A leader is someone who has been appointed by the majority of people to oversee, govern, and make decisions that progress the society or group. From time to time a leader will be faced with a protest against some of his decisions which the public deems unfit but his ability to manage such situations without conflict is what outlines him as a great leader.

A leader must be incisive and decisive. The public are more interested in the short term benefits and a long term plan might not go down with them. it is the duty of the leader to remain firm with these decisions even when the public calls for reform of these plans to suit their immediate desire. great monuments and projects that have been vaunted such as the Eifel Tower, Rome colosseum were once rejected by the public at the outset.

An example of such scenario is the Chinese population case. The population was growing geometrically and if the government had not put in place regulations such as "one child per family", it might actually have lead to the downward spin in china's economy, as the resources will not be enough to cater for the burgeoning population. The government yielding to the public self-interest of allowing multiple births will have been a bad decision in a long term.

The spartans have gone down the history as having the most formidable army ever. This was a result of their ascetic and disciplined lifestyle that was devoid of giving in to all forms of public sentiment or outcry.

it is true that public opinion matters and they may be able to see things more clearly and from a larger perspective than the leader. there are several cases in which the intransigence of the leader has been his biggest undoing, making mistakes that were to late to be corrected. there are different scenarios in the past where the leader carried out projects that not only are unbeneficial to the populace but also inconveniencing them. The horror of leaders like Pol pot, Sadam Hussein and Stalin has proved that some leaders may not have the people's interest at heart and his left to the populace to bemoan situation before they lead to the extreme.

The ability of the leader to look at situations critically and know when to yield, reach an impasse or remain firm is what characterizes a great leader. A leader should not give in to all whimsical outcry of the public without footings and should not also be oblivious of it.