Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The current political landscape is littered with political leaders who bow down to the masses by abandoning their principles for compromise. The current political leaders have covert intentions that are denying the public of proper governance. The most effective type of leader is an scrupulous leader who can navigate the difficulties of the political landscape.

On the surface, compromising values helps politicians by getting votes through having a broader spectrum of supporters. However, the positives are quickly outweighed by the negatives. Mainly, a politician who gave up his/her values has no power to create change. For example, current politicians are always funded by a variety of different lobbying groups. These groups give money to the politician if he/she bends to the group’s favor. With so many obligations to different entities, these types of politicians are not able to effectively create or modify policies.

Contrary to the compromising politician is the committed politician who is unwavering in his or her values. This type of politician has the ability to create change rapidly. He/she has already told the public clearly of the political agenda. Thus, it is easy to create change.

Another aspect of a proper leader is that he/she can be uncompromised in their morals and principles but can also capture the attention of his/her constituents. The masses have shown repeatedly that they can believe in strong leaders like Nelson Mandela. Mandela was an idol to many and the public put their belief in them because he supported their views. With the attention of the public, a leader can catalyze change easily.

Finally, the effective and principled leader has the advantage of clarity. A leader who has their head straight can exact change in the public. However, a compromising leader has abandoned principle to the point where they are mercurial in how they choose between policy. This can clearly be seen in the current governance today where political leaders flip-flop between issues at the slightest whim. This is destructive to any effective policy change and that is why the clarity in scrupulous leaders is needed.