Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders
must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of
compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an
effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to
particular principles and objectives.
This topic raises the controversial issue of whether political leaders
should yield to public opinion and abandon principle or remain consistently
committed to particular principles and objective. Indisputably, the job of
political leaders to work for the public and their benefits. In a
democratic country, the voice of public or public opinion is supereme and
from one perspective it could be seen that political leaders should yield
to public opinion. Nevertheless, public opinion are generally short termed
and narrow sighted and may not benefit the whole nation. Thus, I generally
diagree with the opinion that political leaders must yield to public
opinion and abondon the principle for the sake of compromise and would
argue that to remain consistently committed to particular principles and
objectives.
First of all, in the democratic country where every citizen has their own
voice, opinion and thoughts which are generally self-centered which fails
to represent the interest of nation as whole. I would like to point out
that the political leaders are the leaders that we have choosen to work on
our behalf and a leader most important quality is to remain committed to
principle and objectives for which he/she has been choosen for. To
illustrate, let us look at the example of recent demonatization in India,
Prime Minister of India, remain committed to principles and objective to
fight black money and corruptions and didn't yield to public opinion just
because it was causing the discomfort to the public but remains committed
towards the goal to fight black money. In this circumstance, obviously
public faces alot of discomfort through the process but Prime Minister made
sure that this process becomes as smooth as it can be and after
aprroximately 2 years, we can see the positive effects in our economy and
the amount of black money that was recovered. Consequently, it is pretty
obvious that effective leader should consistently committed to principles
and objectives.
Furthermore, yielding to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake
of compromise is not the quality of a effective political leader.
Specifically, if we look into another example of Babari Mosque and Ram
temple issue, a religion specific issue of land dispute between muslim and
hindu community in India, where majority of its citizen belong to right
wing and demand to verdict in favor of hindu community. Here, due to
majority right wing, public opinion is flawed and yielding to public
opinion and abandon the principles will result in clashes between the both
communities. Hence, both common sense and historical experience have told
us that these type of religious issues need to solve very carefully and
delicately. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrate that leader should
remains committed to his principles and objectives.
Admittedly, political leaders yielding to public opinion, this is true
epecially when it comes to specific area i.e for a small group or community
and other community is not affected by the decision. However, the above
argument does not consitute a sufficient support to claim that for being
effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon
principle for the sake of compromise. Because, generally public opinion
ignores the long term effects of the decision and seeks imediate positive
results and donot care about the principle and long-term objectives.
In conclusion, althrough the yielding to public opinion and abandon
principle for the sake of compromise is quality of effective leader for
some people but it generally don't keep long term goals in mind and basic
thing out being the leader to lead the people to common goals and
objectives rather than yielding yourself self-centric public opinion.