Some people believe that success in creative fields, such as painting, fiction writing, and filmmaking, primarily requires hard work and perseverance. Others believe that such success mainly requires innate talents that cannot be learned.

The claim discusses which is the most important thing success in creative fields requires, hard work and perseverance or innate talents. Some people think gifts occupy the main role. While to some extent, innate talent can be the crucial factor on the path to success, I believe hard work decides whether the person will success or not in creative fields. Even the person who is extremely talented, one could give up the gift because of indolence.

In the field of scientific research, hard work is important. Although the person masters all the knowledge easily, if they don't spend their time in the laboratory, maintain the patient and circumspect attitude for their experiments, they can hardly get the results of what they want. For instance, during the covid pandemic recent years, many scientists and doctors paid tons of efforts for all human beings to find the most effective and harmless way to cure the patients. The vaccines and the medicines saved many people's life. Although we cannot see accurately that how scientists work, based on the news reporting the detailed process of the research it is not difficult to image how many top scientists sacrificed their safety and times in the laboratory, tried again and again to fine the antidote. Without the perseverance and hard work, it is impossible to invent the medicine and vaccine.

No matter the person was born with talent or not, they still need to pay the efforts in order to maximize their talent towards success. Many years ago, my parents took me to a piano concert which is hold by a 10-year-old girl. Her skill was so mature which can hardly image that she is only a little girl. When her mother introduced her daughter, she talked about how talented the little girl is. Only had been learnt piano 5 years, she could even hold a concert by herself. However, over the years I met that girl once again, she even didn't play the piano now. The reason is when she was called "the prodigy", the girl and her family was largely attracted by reputation and wealth and make her become lack of practice. Therefore, her innate talent left her forever. Image if she didn't affect by others and concentrated on piano practicing, her remaining life would be a big difference. The perseverance and hard work are so essential even for a prodigy.

In conclusion, although talent may be one factor of success, as the examples I mentioned above, hardworking should be the base of success. Even the person who do not have so much talent as the genius, they can also reach the top with their efforts. Vice versa, if the talent cannot catch their gifts with perseverance like the piano prodigy, their gifts cannot give them anything, or just a short-term return.