Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

I strongly believe that teaching the basics of logical reasoning to our students will produce a more ethical and moral society, rather than directly focussing on the morals itself. This is because not only does it undermines the meaning of education but also stops students to question things around them. Logical reasoning, on the other hand, makes an individual independent, responsible and morally aware of surroundings.

Firstly, education is given to all people, irrespective of the age group, to make them more informed, responsible for their actions and hence ethical. And this is done to have a moral and crime-free society. But, this can only be developed when we teach people to question on what is happening around and causes of those happenings. For example, a student, in an arabic society, who is only taught that keeping women in cover is moral doesn't understands the implications of this on women. He or she is not taught the actual logical reasoning behind it. If only the student is questioning such actions practically, they will understand it is wrong on many accounts.

Secondly, a foundation of logical reasoning based education will unveil many backward as well as illogical practices the society has. People will come together and and discuss the issues and challenges in front of them. They will learn to solve a problem and contrasting views will help in bringing forth all sides of the coin. Hence the solutions will be just, responsible and will be characteristically moral. Take the example of the Sati issue in India. With the advent of proper education based on logical reasoning, people realised that such a practice was heinious. It took away human rights and the act itself was immoral. Only with logcial reason, such a practice was abandoned.

Lastly, an education based on only morals will be really sporadic demographically. Different regions have different moral values. It will be based on the teachers that what should be taught is correct or not. Such things will create bias and insensitivity in a global agglomeration. For example in India gay marriages are stiil considered stigma and hence is taught as morally wrong where as in the US, it is socially acceptable. hence in a situation of these two coming together will have clash of values and unjustified tensions.

The opposing side can say that if we only concentrate on teaching logical reasoning, it may make our generation rebellious to customs. But doesn't this mean such customs were at fault in logic? And such customs and morals were more harmful than not? Also, it can be pointed that it may not always teach the essential morals that evade logical reasoning but are correct, like reprimanding children physically to correct their mistakes. But, on the other hand logical reasoning gives better solutions to correct such mistakes. Counselling based on logical reasoning can help in a long way than doing so by physical implications.

In the end, I put forward strongly that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning will definitely produce a more moral society. Its not only scientific but will also give results of a morality based education.