Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The main purpose of a university is to prepare a person for his future life, to give him the knowledge required for him to succeed wherever the student goes. The above statements states two differing views. One says that universities should should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study while the other states that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields. I firmly agree with the latter.

A college degree increases the probability of landing a good job by a significant number. When two people are being interviewed for a job, the interviewer is more likely to select a person with the relevant skillsets required than a jack of all trades. A person who has been studying in his chosen field will have in depth knowledge of the field. This shows that a person who has recieved ample education in his preferred field has an advantage whilst applying for a job. Getting a good job is one of the main reasons a person enrolls in a university. With unemployment on the rise, it is imperative that a person gets a good job. The second view ensures this.

People often give the reason in support of the first view that students require a multitude of skills before they graduate. But in the practical world, that is not necessary. For a student persuing masters in computer science, the knowledge of civil engineering is useless. Many of the graduates have already forgotten the courses they have learned which are not pertinent to their own field. This is just a waste of time. Time which could have been given to learning advanced concepts. But some courses which are not pertaining to the chosen field are necessary. For example, finance management. Even though a person might top his class, the lack of financial knowledge will bring all of his hard work to naught.

Thus, a singular skillset will help a student to go ahead in his field of study, pertinent skills must also be taught by an university for the overall growth of the student. Instead of enforcing courses, students must be free to select additional courses they like.