Children should be taught about the importance of money from a very young age because money is the most important determinant of social success.

Money, in today's world is of paramount importance. Anything can be done when you have adequate money, and nothing can be done when you have no money. I wholeheartedly agree that children should be taught about the importance of money from a young age but I disagree with the reason that money is the most important determinant of social success.

Money, in its most layman terms can be described as any item or verifiable record which can be accepted as payment for goods and services rendered. If you want to buy food, you pay the grocer money in exchange for the ingredients. The consequences of young people not knowing the importance of money can be catastrophic. For example, a person who doesn't know the importance of money will spend the whole of his salary in luxuries and not invest any of it. In times of dire need, like an unexpected accident or disease, the person will not have any money saved to pay the medical bills. In this case, a loan will have to be taken and everything can go downhill from there.

Children must be taught the importance of money and of investing and saving from a young age. With proper investments and savings, a person can buy a house without taking a loan. He can plan for a comfortable living and save for it. When he retires, he will not have to work in the twilight stages of his life. He can enjoy the life he worked tirelessly for. He can ensure that the next generation is also taught about the importance of money.

Even though money is important, it is not the most important determinant of social success. The most important determinant of social success is how a person behaves. His sympathy for others and the willingness to help others out of generosity. We know that Bill Gates is one of the richest men in the world. But we know him more for his philanthropic efforts. Recently, he pledged over 150 million dollars for the research of the vaccine for Coronavirus. He has also spearheaded many charities for the welfare of others and promised to donate 90% of his wealth to charities and other social causes. Another great example is Sudha Murthy, the chairperson of the Infosys Foundation and the wife of the co-founder of Infosys. Through the Infosys foundation, she has spearheaded social work in the areas of healthcare, education, empowerment of women, public hygiene, art and culture, and poverty alleviation at the grassroots level. Her vision for better access to education has led to the construction of tens of thousands of libraries.

In conclusion, knowledge about money is of tremendous importance in today's world but doing something constructive for your society with that money is the most important determinant of social success.