Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

A country is an amalgamation of people from across all spectrums of life and so the aim of politics and the government should be 'unity in diversity' and not just pursuing a group's ideals setting aside the greater good of all its citizens. An ideal is the belief and principle that guides an individual which may or may not be always right as per the wider audience like someone may be extreme rightist: believes in the superiority of their religion, conservative and dogmatic in their beliefs and conduct. Such a person will never be able to view people of a different origin and ethnicity as equal and worthy. This is not the political ideal that a nation's citizens envision which turns a blind eye to humanitarian angle.

Diverse people will have diverse views, interests and ideologies and a nation cannot function favouring a single ideology. It needs to find a common ground agreeable to most and this is the responsibility of the government. This will eventually define the growth and prosperity of a nation. Consider the field of education for example. The conservatives here would be driven by making the curriculum more biased towards their religion, history and culture. Probably even demand books to be in their language. The liberals on the contrary, would be of the opinion that such a curriculum will only restrict the learning and development of their children and would only breed prejudiced individuals like theme. They would demand an education that considers all aspects right from teaching history and culture of the region to global curriculum which will make the children globally competitive.

Similar analogy is applicable in other fields as well like trade, defence, culture, infrastructure and so on. There will always be a contention between people of different ideologies on every topic which only the government can resolve by pointing the people in the right direction and doing what is best for all. The goal of politics should be uniting all spectrums of individuals under a single umbrella which is good for the entire country as a whole.

In conclusion, since a nation is comprised of people from different caste, colour, gender, belief, religion etc., there is no one ideal that can serve most or all of them. Hence, it is the responsibility of the political governments to take everyone together and united under a reasonable common consensus appealing to the majority instead of fulfilling their own ideals.