Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal.

Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What is the goal of politics? The opposite answers on this question coexist in our society. The first point is that politics have the goal to pursue an ideal. The second viewpoint is that politicians should try to find common ground and reach consensus rather than stubbornly promote some ideals. From my point of view, despite the fact that ideals are important for our identity and our society, in the world of politics finding common ground and settling a consensus are more crucial and central than pursuing ideals.

To begin with, I deeply believe that the main purpose of political activity is to find common ground and consensus. In fact, relationships between countries are based on this idea. When presidents, prime ministers and chancellors meet each other in summit they have some issue to talk about and often they have different viewpoints on them. If they focused on their own interests and ideals which may be disparate from ones of other leaders, they would not manage to make any agreement. Therefore they try to find a common understanding and arrived at consensus. For instance, recently heads of Russia, China, the USA, France and the UK visited an assemble where they tried to create a treaty about their future actions to tackle such global problems as poverty and global warming, these countries have tensions between them but they put them aside and concentrated their attention on common ground and tried to find a solution which will satisfy all sides of the deal. But if a consensus cannot be reached, what is the alternative possible resolution of the tension?

The answer is conflict or even war. In fact, perhaps absence of common ground and impossibility to arrive at consensus may display their importance even better than their existence. For instance, the USA and Russia cannot find common ground on an issue of Ukraine and ceasing of Crimea. After the failure to make an agreement, the sanctions were imposed on Russian Federation. It may be seen that these sanctions hurt only Russia but in fact, the global market suffers as well. Moreover, sometimes the tension may turn into open conflict - war. In fact, failure to find common ground and set compromise has often led to this result. For instance, the first world war was started because Great Britain, France, Russia and Germany failed to find a consensus about sphere of their influence. Perhaps one of the reasons which did not allow them to reach a consensus is different ideals. Many conflicts and war were started because leaders and politicians stubbornly followed their ideals. We often assume that ideals are the core of our society and thus we should protect them; however, other societies and countries have their ideals and values which may not be the same as ours. In politics it is crucial to protect yours ideals and do not offend ideals of others.

In conclusion, the main goal of politics is reaching reasonable consensus and agreement, the interaction between states and polities is based on this stance. Consequently, it is the chief process.