Sometimes imagination is a more valuable asset than experience. People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible and thus can approach a task without constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Imagination is what is needed in every individual, to make a difference. In order to achieve something or to do something incredible, imagination or visualization is a mandatory requirement, but imagination develops with experience, imagination without experience can be devastating. To work or to suggest measures to solve a problem require experience.

To begin with, I would like to go to a situation in construction industry where, a high rise building has to be constructed on a wet swampy ground, at that time only imagination without experience can hardly come in support. To solve that problem all the people will put their faith on the panel of highly experienced professionals, as they have gone through various similar problems and what they will decide will be more effective than a novice inexperienced person.

Here, one might argue that too much of experience might stagnate the thinking of the professionals, but going back to the previous example the experienced professionals will know the probable consequences of improperly thought actions. Those established habits and attitudes are not for refraining something from being developed but for the safety of the workers and for effective fulfillment of the goal. Hence every industry and in every field wants experienced professionals in their top ranks.

In the teaching profession, there is a huge difference between an experienced and an inexperienced teacher. A professor is the individual with extreme experience in the respective field of study and hence the teaching is valued the most, but an inexperienced teacher might face trouble while teaching due to lack of experience. So here, although an inexperienced will not be able to give a proper pragmatic example as compared to an experienced professor.

Therefore, it is hard to accept that sometimes imagination is a more valuable asset than experience. Yes, it may allow the thinker to come up with an innovative idea but sometimes it may also lead to catastrophe. Success based on such freely thought solution is nothing but pure luck.