Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Celebrities are everywhere- naturally everyone wants to know what the glamorous and glitzy lives of their favorite actress, actor, or athlete is really like. And while adults can enjoy following their icons, its important to remember that children will inevitably make up a part of that visibility. So then the question is, is there a societal responsibility for our icons to act properly for ALL of their audience?

Of course! While a raunchy drunken interview with a celebrity may be entertaining for some folk, an adult can draw the line between what is and isn't appropriate much more so than children. This is the heart of the first argument: that children are highly impressionable. A child does not have the expereince, logic, or age to make tough decisions- instead, as they are often described, they behave as sponges. If a child seen innapropriate actions they are inclined to mimic and follow and not understand why what they are doing is wrong.

One may quickly interject, that it is the parents responsibility to redirect and guide their child; however, sometimes parents don't even know what their child has been exposed to. I would implore the reader to think about all the things they did as a child that their parents never heard the first thing of. Similarly, even if the parent can intervene, repeated or even single exposure to shocking or unscrupulous content can leave lasting impacts on a child. For example, the stress about self and body image in teenagers is staggeringly high in today's society. Much of this can be traced back to what children are consuming on media- learning that people are aloud to and will jeer and denegrate eachother if they do not look "normal" or "good." In short, children WILL consume media, and it IS evidently harmful, as we can see in today's teen psyche.

Now, it is unrealistic to ask every celebrity to constantly act like Mr. Rogers. (Although, certainly the reader can imagine, that were that the case, the world may be a much happier place). The term, "behave like role models," can be vague! Simply put, not everyone must display a cookie cutter mold of 'the perfect person,' because individuality, expression, and creativity are also vital to the lives and development of adults and children alike. The key is such: express yourself, but also check yourself. Celebrities would be remiss to not put their best foot forwards, and not just for their impressionable audiences sake!

To conclude, there is more than a societal responsibility, there is a moral responsibility for celebrities - and in fact everyone- to behave as a role model. In this highly overlapped, intricate, and digital world, you never know who is watching you. Because Celebrities have such a high range of visibility, this responsibility is greater. When they interact with their society, they should consider that they are impacting maleable minds, and that their actions have consequences. They can do their part in minimizing anxiety and stress among their younger fans, and they can remember that it is possible to do so without compromising their own self expression. Good guidance from our stars can lead to more positivity, understanding, and social boon on a global level.