Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to
them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal
responsibility.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and
supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge
your position.
Today we live in the world of social media. In this world youth has new role models such as
sports stars, movie stars and young businessmen. Their life is accessible to all the young generation
through social media platforms. These stars are also continuously posting and interacting with their
fans. I
agree with the prompt and in my opinion these stars must set good examples for the young
generation for the following two reasons.
Firstly, today's youth is highly influenced by the sprots and movie stars. They look up to
them and attempt to be like one. The behaviour of these stars directly impacts the behavior of the
society. Lets take a cricketer of an example, in India cricketers are treated like gods. Every Indian
child has a favourate cricketer and they try to do every thing that the crickerter is doing. If the
cricketer is a good person that is he respects elders, try to be fit, focus only on game etc then all
the children who follows that cricketer also try to follow those things. If he is not a good fit for
a society that is he drink and drives, disrespects elders and fans, does not focus on the game etc, then
children who follows that cricketers also become like that cricketer.
Secondly, with the social media the personal life of all stars is easily available to the
general public. Their nature is open to all the young people to follows them. At the young stage,
child can't differentiate between movie and real world and has an assumption that the nature of actor
in the movie is his real nature. Then he tries to follow his real nature disregarding wheather the
nature is good or bad. So, as a role model stars has an obligation to behave in good manners for the
young people who look up to him. For example, if a actor work in compaign againts smoking and smokes
in real world then that send wrong message to the young genration.
In conclusion, I think stars have an obligation to behave as role models because their
behavior has high influence on the young generation.