Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility

Sport stars and movie stars belong to a category which is generalized as showbiz i.e Show Business. Everything that these stars do is to influence other people in some or the other way.These people mostly belong to young or middle age group that act as role models for youngsters. I agree with the author that they should fulfill the societal responsibility.The only thing I would like to add is that these stars should always fulfill their part in society even without any monetary benefits.

Firstly,these stars are revered by many common people distributed across various age groups.Especially young minds which are very fickle in terms of their opinions are easily persuaded by these stars to promote their products.Their are a myriad of brands that perform various marketing campaigns with the help of superstars in their particular fields. For instance, a well known actor like Amitabh Bachchan was an ambassador for the Polio campaign in India wherein he acted as a medium to educate all the people of India including both the urban and the rural ones , on the importance of the polio vaccine, this created a huge wave of vaccination in India and further helped to eradicate Polio. These superstars have a very charming quality of influencing people on a grand scale, which if done for a good cause can surely help the society.

Secondly,nowadays due to the advent of social media and technology , anyone and everyone can be an influencer but to create a larger impact brands and companies pay millions of dollars to sport as well as movie stars to endorse things.As it is said that the fame is ephemeral i.e not everyone carries on his/her fame till eternity.The point being is that these actors religiously campaign for their endorsement otherwise that could be taken away from them . This creates a healthy competition between the stars as well as benefits the society in the same way.

However,looking up to the points made above ,I will say that all this endorsements should be done for a good cause otherwise they could prove to be detrimental to the society.As I stated above that young minds are fickle , they pick up bad things at a faster pace then good ones. For instance, if their favorite actor or sport personality endorses alcohol or tobacco they would think that these things are cool and will follow them .Hence both the cause and effect should be considered by an eminent personality before making any endorsement.

In conclusion,I will say that movie stars and sports personalities given the amount of fame also have a huge responsibility towards society which they should fulfill regardless of being paid millions of dollars.In the end , it is the upbringing and thinking of an individual which leads to the overall growth of the society .