Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Education shapes our mindsets and lives in uncanny ways. Educational institutions are primarily established to focus on learning by different methods to make it easier and more valuable for students to learn things. Classrooms are the cardinal sources of information gain and studying. Teachers/ Professors employ various methods to teach their classes and make them interactive so that students can learn and retain information easily and for longer time. Though, it is the responsibility of both students and teachers equally, rather than teachers alone, to make this interaction possible and beneficial at their ends. Students can make this interactivity effective by raising questions whenever they don’t understand anything rather than accepting the facts and methods passively.

Classroom learning is most effective when teachers and students participate actively. How would it feel like for a student if the teacher just comes in, scribbles some facts and phenomena on the blackboard, or shows some presentation while mumbling certain things in a monotonous manner and just leaves when the time is up? Not good, right. Students would get way too bored to listen and respond to anything, and not understand much of anything taught. In a similar sense, if the students just keep listening passively and scribble something in their notebooks, it won’t be any fun for the professor teaching the class. If students participate in the class, ask questions, it buttresses the enthusiasm of the teacher to give his/her best and teach better. So, active learning is helpful to the person teaching the subject.

Not only does active learning bring out the best from the teacher, it fosters better learning for the students as well. Maybe you don’t understand something, or have a doubt regarding the viability of what is being taught, raising questions leads to more information and clarification of the doubt. The professor would try to substantiate what is being taught by giving more examples, using some simpler language or a real-life analogy to explain it better to the students. If no questions are asked, he/she would keep going thinking the students don’t have any doubts regarding the subject matter he/she is teaching.

Corroborating the above factor regarding the benefits of active learning, asking questions results in better retention of facts and information too. When we raise questions and doubts, those things stick in our memory longer than any passively retained fact/information. We can recall that information by always remembering that we asked a certain question and how the professor clarified the doubt. Asking questions activates our neurons and our mind is then able to relate to the information being grasped by relating it to the information we already have, example, some incidents in life, some prior fact we know etc. This creates a virtual image in our brain and thus we are able to retain that information better and for longer duration.

Thus, active learning is beneficial for both teachers and students to learn effectively and have a better retention of information taught. Students should cater to it, and raise as many doubts as they have, in order for them as well as others to learn better. No matter how silly or petty the question is, it is better to speak up than to keep doubts and hamper learning. This is how classroom environment can be made better for learning and overall development of students.