The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Greatness is a pretty difficult term to define and measure. It is purely subjective and can be stated in several contexts, like how many lives you personally affect, what good can you do to the community and what you can give back, how you can hold up in tough situations in life when time demands you to, etc. There are individuals who we look up to in our lives, because of our own reasons for what success means and our evaluation of greatness. They may be ones living among us, ones who have done great things and influenced a lot of people, or are continuing to do so, or even those who did so in the past, long before we were born. It is only a matter of who we look up to in times when we need to push us to do better. I would agree that the ones who are currently affecting the world are the ones we consider greats in our time.

Starting with the ones who are currently affecting our lives and mindsets, there are great individuals who have been working for years to do something worthy. It’s not the want of being called great or being followed that leads people to work that much, rather an internal drive and motivation. We have several examples of such individuals. Elon Musk didn’t want the world to treat him the way he’s being worshipped today, he just had a drive to do something to make the future better for humanity. We don’t need people living after him to decide whether he was great or not. Everyone who’s being influenced by his work and products feel so. We don’t need a coming generation of fans to tell whether Stephen Curry plays great basketball or not, we are witnesses to his greatness today. So many people have been enthralled by his skills and game, that even the ones who had stopped watching the game have started following it again because of him. So, the greatness of an individual can sure be appreciated by his/her contemporaries.

Not only the ones who are world-famous can be called greats. There are individuals living among us everyday who influence people with the little things they do. Helping a person in need, motivating your friends when they feel down, doing something for someone by putting yourself on the line, these are all acts of greatness that we fail to witness in people who live next door. As mentioned, greatness is subjective. We only consider greatness in famous people while totally failing to attend to the ones we see everyday. Tiny little acts of kindness and generosity and giving mark the greatness in individuals, ones who can make your day better with the little things they do.

On the other hand, there are times when an individual is ridiculed throughout his/her life because people can’t see the correctness of work he/she has done and the number of ways in which it can affect everyone’s lives. For this, we have the example of Nikola Tesla. He made so many discoveries that nobody thought were worthy of anything. He was not even funded for his projects and he was so poor that he died in misery, not appreciated by anyone. Look at the time now, a lot of people laud him for being one of the greatest discoverers of his time, because they have now realized the importance of his work when it is an indispensable part of their day to day life.

Conclusively, it is just a matter of our perspective and understanding what we consider greatness. While there are a lot of individuals who we look up to in our lives and consider them great. It feels great to be in their presence and appreciate the value they can bring to the community and world on a larger scale. It is not just the ones who live after someone, but the ones who live along with them, who can witness this greatness. Those who we see as greats in our times, might not even be relevant to future generations. So greatness can very well be observed and decided by contemporaries.