"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author states that people in southwestern United States don’t distinguish butter from margarine or use the term ‘butter’ to refer to either butter or margarine. The explanation proposed by the author resulting in the aforementioned conclusion is based on the fact that the customers do not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter, indicating that they are happy. The result of the argument can be explained in alternate ways, like the not caring attitude of customers, or their lack of willingness to complain, or maybe their favoring margarine over butter. These are plausible explanations that might have resulted in only rare complaints by customers.

One plausible alternative is that the customers do not have enough time or willingness to complain about the substitution. There are only a handful of people who actually care about what is being served to them, and the discrepancy in the served items. Thus only those who are concerned enough about what they are eating are the ones who complain. It can not be stated that just because only 2 percent of the customers are complaining about the replacement, the rest 98 percent customers are happy with the change. It can only be known by means of a customer review/ survey where their preferences and satisfaction level with the change are questioned.

In another scenario, maybe some customers have stopped dining at Happy Pancake House restaurants after the implementation of the change. This can only be known by data regarding the change in number of customers dining now, and before the change was put forth. It is possible that they have started dining at other restaurants more and thus the number of complaints are only very few. Also, it is an arrant possibility that some new customers who like margarine over butter have started dining in the restaurant after the change was made. This might even cover for the change in number of customers dining in the restaurants. All this needs to be considered deliberately before generalizing that people can’t distinguish butter from margarine.

Another possible alternative to the above argument is that customers are not much bothered whether they get butter or margarine. They might care only about the taste and quality of what they are being served. If that doesn’t get much affected by substituting margarine for butter, then most of the customers would not complain, as they are not bothered if they get either of the two. Even if the taste differs a little, most customers would not be affected much and would continue to dine.

Considering the alternative scenarios mentioned above, there are alternate explanations that could have resulted in the customer's response to the change brought about by the restaurant. The author’s conclusion is not the only explanation for the mentioned behavior. Each of the aforementioned explanations substantiate the facts presented in the argument and can very well serve as the explanations behind the argument given by the author.