Students who demonstrate exceptional talent should be given increased educational resources, opportunities, and attention.

I truly believe that in life everyone has its own aptitudes and qualities, and that sometimes we need someone to help us exploit our inner best. Commensurate to this idea, I agree that students who demonstrate exceptional talent should be given increased educational resources, opportunities and attention. However, this does not mean that students who require special attention because they have difficulties in some specific areas, should not receive help.

As I mentioned above, every person is different, has different goals in life and different traits. Educational entities should help students discover these aptitudes and preferences in life, specially during an early stage. Studies have proved that kids in their early stage are exceptionally receptive to new information, and that the first years at school will have an enormous impact in their lives. Therefore, schools should have a “flexible” curriculum for its kids depending on their specific characteristics. This should be applied from kinder garden in school, to master courses in university.

Students that demonstrate exceptional talent should be motivated to continue developing their skills. This applies to any course of action, not necessarily math or physics, but any sport for example. Educational entities should give all available opportunities to ssupport these students and help them exploit their talent. Imagine how much talent is wasted in the world because students do not have the opportunities to develop their skills, or because educational facilities treat every student the same way. For example, if there is a student that is gifted in math, but has no idea how to play soccer, and another student is a soccer super star, but has no idea about calculus, why should they receive the same educational resources and attention? These two student should have their own specific opportunities to develop their talents.

However, the aforementioned does not mean that student who are not “gifted” or “very talented” in a specific area, should not receive special attention if they need to. As mentioned above, educational facilities should have flexible curriculums for students. If there are student that are having trouble with certain topics, schools should provide the required resources to help them. Maybe even by doing so, schools may discover hidden traits in students who did not believe to have any special quality.

To conclude, I believe that all students should be given an opportunity to exploit their best inner self, according to their aptitudes or needs. All students, including exceptional talented students, should be pushed further to reach their ultimate goals in life, by providing opportunities and special attention. Who knows? If properly supported, a non “gifted” student may have a hidden exceptional talent to be discovered.