Studying food ways – what foods people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare, and consume them – is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture

Foodways can show how people behave: What kind of food they are eating? Are there any traditions in the way it is prepared? By answering those questions, there can be important information regarding the life style and culture of individuals. However, while foodways can definitely show a peek of a culture, other factors are still fundamental to gain a deep understand of a culture.

Some people could claim that foodways would be the path to deeply connect and understand a culture. For instance, the way citizens in USA consume and prepare food can certainly show some behaviours. Some examples are the fast food culture there, where lunchs are individuals and rapidly prepared. This behaviours can be associated with some trademarks which permeate the american culture, such as individualism and the urge that everything occurs instantly, respectively. With this in mind, we could see a link between foodway and the culture of this country.

There are, however, aspects of a nation that could not be only defined by foodway. Take the extensive use of mobile and social media in nowadays culture from americans. There is an entire ecossystem inside apps that more recent generations use, with people resharing people from each other, posting photos about their lifes and showing their hobies and preferences. This is an extremelly complext aspect of current american culture, with multiple facets and usages. These aspects could be explored by examining these new social relationships in the american culture by getting inside these apps. That sort of complexity and analysis required to attain a deep understanding could not be obtained just by analysing how food is made, consumed and prepared.

Like social media, the extensive use fast media is a complext aspect of the american culture. There are thousands of series and movies accross multiple online platforms which are consumed extensively by the american population. It cannot be ignored how it shapes the culture by adding new references and characters that go and leave in one season. This could be something seen in how food is acquired, with these series being advertized on Mcdonalds or some other food chaim. However, deeply understanding of how people consume media in this culture and the multiple relationships between multiple shows and movies would not be feasible just given foodway.

In conclusion, foodway for sure helps and can give insights of a culture, by showing some common traits from a certain population. Still, since culture is multifaceted and extremelly, it can be challenging to actually deeply understand it only from this point of view. There is certainly a necessity to look at other points of view to actually understand it deeply.