Studying foodways—what foods people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare, and consume them—is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture.

The issue raised here asks reader to take stand on whether studying foodways of people is the best way to gain a deep understanding of a certain culture. Culture consists a lot of things, it includes the dressing style, the kind of things people celebrate, religion, beliefs and many more things. Food habits plays a portion of culture and not really a major factor in determing any kind of culture. Let’s look at a few examples to understand this.

Firstly, with the advent of progress in transportation services, we are able to consume a number of cuisines from across the world. Not only just consume we have learnt the authentic way of preparing it and enjoying it. Say for example, people from across the world enjoy Chinese noodles so this doesn’t really mean we are following Chinese culture nor we can talk the language. In such cases, based on the food ways if we try to understand the culture, it would be discrepant.

Secondly, In parts of India, we can find both vegetarians and no vegetarians, though they follow the same culture. It all comes down to a simple logic of what edible food is abundantly and easily available in that part of region. The costal regions might see more population of people consuming fish, while the some part where there is good agriculture land in accordance with a good climate, then people are bound to vegetarians. Hence, with the same religion and traditions food habits can still differ.

Thirdly, in countries like Saudi Arabia, where women wear a scarf over their head, which is a part of the religion and their belief system. Now how would we correlate that to the food they commonly consume like hummus and shawarma. With just the knowledge about food, it becomes very difficult to conclude why people follow certain beliefs.

Lastly, culture is a wider aspect and goes beyond the foodways. Food is just one of the factor that may or may not have influenced the culture. Hence, it would be unreasonable to conclude an understanding of the culture based on the foldaways.