In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles as the main means of transport is reducing even though it is beneficial both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference? How can people be encouraged to use bicycles?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that cycling has many physical and environmental benefits, but it's use has declined in some countries. This essay will discuss about this change in preference along with ways to get back people on the cycles.

One of key causes of this change might be due to the fact that roads may not be well-suited for riding a bicycle smoothly, especially during rainy seasons. Apart from this, riding a cycle requires enough time and energy. Nowadays, people are always in a rush and want to reach their destination as quickly as possible, and cycling doesn't really serve the purpose. Additionally, this activity requires some amount of physical effort, which people are too lazy to invest.

In order to overcome all such difficulties there a few solutions that could be followed to encourage people to use bicycles as a means of transport. First and foremost, the government should take necessary steps to reconstruct roads and lanes that get damaged during rainy seasons so that they are suitable for cyclers. Also, it is important to spread awarness among people about the health benefits of cycling. Furthermore, there exists an upside to the nature because carbon emissions are totally eliminated which in turn will result in lesser air and noise pollution. For instance, an experiment was conducted at university of Netherlands, where a certain city opted for cycling for a whole month as the only means of transport, which resulted in 40 percent reduction of pollutants in the air.

In conclusion, the remedies might seem quite extensive and time-consuming to implement, but will definitely help tackle the problem of reduced usage of bicycles among citizens in long run.