Success, whether academic or professional, involves an ability to survive in a new

environment and--, eventually, --to change it

Success has always been a desired thing in any ground academics or professional. It takes hard work, patience, strategy and lot of other things. Being a successful person always demands the ability to understand all the complexities and intricacies related to that field and overcome through it. This demand an ability to survive in a new environment. However eventually changing the environment is circumstantial for success.

The success of an athlete depend on number of matches he won against all his opponents. This win can only come if he will be able to survive all different kind of tough conditions presented to him and he overcomes all those to defeat his opponents. Here he was able to survive the new environment like heat, cold, etc presented to him better than his opponents and helped him in success. But here he didn't change the environment. So even if that athlete eventually doesn't change the environment but still he comes out to be successful based on survival in new environment. Similarly, on academic ground if say a student has gone for higher studies in foreign country where language is different from his endemic country. This new foreign country gives a huge spectrum of new environment like language barrier, traditional differences, food habits, etc. To be successful in thus environment , an ability to survive all these and performing better in exams is demanded. But again his success didn't change the environment like language, tradition, etc.

However, in many situations apart from ability to survive, an ability to change the environment is also demanded. There are many situations where social reformers have visited to hostile environments where their objective is ameliorate the society. In these cases only adapting into society and mere survival is not parameter of success until they change the environments. For example, indian freedom fighters under british colonial rule have not only survive the new environment to be successful but they have to change the environment by fighting against britishers to give freedom. All successful freedom fighters who are still remembered have this ability and hence they were successful. Also on academic grounds, all those innovators are successful have ability to not only to adapt to new environments but also to bring some revolutionary innovations that changed the whole environment. Invention of clock, wheel, etc are such examples.

Thus, for being successful one needs an ability of surviving to new environments and the ability to change the environment is not a cumpolsary ability. Many examples are presented where it is shown that mere proper adaption also provided the success even if one has not the ability of changing environment. Success is mostly a relative parameter on academic grounds mos often. If one has ability to survive well in new conditions than others then he may be successful than others too. On professional grounds, one has to involve ability of survival in new environment and also to eventually change it most often.